A Week in the Life of Eric Slaugh ’15

Hey everybody! My name is Eric Slaugh and I am a freshman, double-major in Civil and Environmental Engineering. I am from Lancaster, PA (no I am not Amish). I am a part of the Honors Program, Ultimate Frisbee Club, Engineers Without Borders, and the Pep Band.

A typical week for me (starting on Monday) begins with Chem and Physics lectures for one hour each from 9-11 a.m. I then have a break when I will head downtown to Old Snell to my research lab. Here, I will help out other members of the lab group or I will work on my own project. I am currently working on the design for the exterior of an Autonomous Underwater Vehicle. I spend about 10 hours a week in my lab. I then return for my Calc III and Differential Equations lectures from 3-5.

My weekday evenings will consist of attending club meetings, such as Honors Steering Committee, Engineers Without Borders, or Knitting for the Kneedy or attending activites, such Ultimate Frisbee practice, Volleyball Club practice, and intramural volleyball and soccer games. If I am not at a meeting or athletics, then I am working on my homework or just relaxing with kids on my floor.

Tuesday, I get down to my lab by nine to work. I come back to make my noon class. That is my Differential Equation Recitation class, which is a one hour a week class that is taught by a junior math major. I then go to Physics Team Design which a special physics lab that is once a week for two hours. In that lab, we are modelling the movement of a train along an arbitrary track. From there I head off to our honors class. This semester has focused on social implications of important issues. I then go to my Chem recitation class for one hour until 5.

My Wednesday schedule is almost the same as my Monday schedule, except that I have my Honors recitation class from 11-12 p.m.

Thursday, I only have two classes. I get up around 7:30 and go down to my lab to work. I get back for my 11 o’clock Calc III recitation class. At noon, I walk over to the admissions building to give a tour to perspective students. This is my other job and I love it. After the tour, I eat and go to Honors class again at 2:20-3:45.

My Friday schedule is similar to my Monday schdule, except that I have Chem lab every other week from 10-12. Here, we do experiments that further our understand of the material that is being taught to us in lecture.

My weekend nights consist of me possibly doing numerous things. Because I am in the Pep Band, I am always at the hockey games. I have an amazing time at the games. Sometimes I will travel with the Pep Band to the away hockey games as well. For instance, we went to Harvard and Dartmouth two weekends ago to cheer on the team. If I am not with the Pep Band, then I might be hanging out with the frisbee team. We have tournaments on weekends, so I might be away playing in those. I also could be found just hanging out on my floor watching a movie or playing video games. Unfortunately, my homework load can be very heavy, so I am sometimes forced to spend a weekend night doing homework as well.

Well there you have it, a week in the life of Eric Slaugh. I hope you enjoyed reading about it as much as I enjoy living it! I love my experiences at Clarkson and I am proud of my decision to come here. If you have any questions for me, please just comment on my post! =)

Leave a Reply

